Jump to Navigation

'Black Clock' 15 to be celebrated in New York at McNally Jackson Books

Click here for a high resolution version of the cover photo.

For issue 15, the acclaimed literary journal evokes movies never seen and barely imagined.

Black Clock contributors Rick Moody, Lynne Tillman, Geoffrey O’Brien, Kyra Simone and Anthony Miller join novelist and Black Clock Editor Steve Erickson at McNally Jackson Books on March 25th at 4:30 pm.

March 5, Valencia, CA—In a movie issue like no other, Black Clock 15 features Geoff Nicholson’s meeting of two film pioneers in “Buster Keaton: The Warhol Years,” David Thomson’s journey up the Amazon with Warren Beatty, and Anthony Miller’s history of the cinema — from D.W. Griffith’s adaptation of Hemingway’s The Sun Also Rises (presenting Louise Brooks as Lady Brett) to Don Siegel’s ‘60s cult B-movie Bonnie and Clyde with Tuesday Weld and Clint Eastwood, to the 2010 Academy Award-winning portrayal by Chris Farley of silent comedic actor Fatty Arbuckle in Milos Forman’s The Life of the Party.  The issue also stars Jonathan Lethem, Lynne Tillman, Rick Moody, Claire Phillips, Michael Ventura, Emily White, Mark. Z. Danielewski and a cast of tens.  Review copies in PDF form are available upon request.

On March 25th, independent New York bookstore McNally Jackson (52 Prince St, New York, 10012-3309) will host a celebration of Black Clock 15–with contributors Rick Moody, Anthony Miller, Geoffrey O’Brien, Kyra Simone, Lynne Tillman, and writer and editor Steve Erickson. The event begins at 4:30 pm.

Published semi-annually by California Institute of the Arts’ (CalArts) MFA Writing Program, Black Clock 15 will be available mid-March at both independent bookstores around the country and blackclock.org.

Edited by Steve Erickson, Black Clock has become one of America’s leading literary journals since its inception in 2004. Singular, idiosyncratic and a little mysterious, it has featured such established authors as Don DeLillo, Richard Powers, Miranda July, Joanna Scott, Samuel R. Delany, Aimee Bender, Susan Straight, William T. Vollmann and David Foster Wallace along with a growing roster of striking literary debuts.  Work appearing in Black Clock has been anthologized in best-of-the-year collections and nominated for O. Henry and Pushcart prizes, and two excerpted novels have gone on to win the National Book Award.

Black Clock's staff includes Steve Erickson, acclaimed novelist, critic and member of CalArts MFA Writing Program faculty in addition to being the magazine’s Editor; Senior Editor, novelist and CalArts faculty member Bruce Bauman; Managing Editor Orli Low; novelist and Deputy Managing Editor Anne-Marie Kinney, and Art Director Ophelia Chong.

Black Clock is available in print, ePUB and PDF editions at BlackClock.org. Printing on demand now makes Black Clock greener than ever with print versions distributed in the US, Canada, the UK, and beyond.  Subscriptions are available at BlackClock.org/Subscribe. Single issue cover price: $17. To subscribe or for more information, visit BlackClock.org.

Last edited by dthatt on Mar 08, 2012
Close Menu
Open Menu