Jump to Navigation

The Herb Alpert Foundation and California Institute of the Arts (CalArts) will announce the 2013 Alpert Award in the Arts recipients on May 10th

Santa Monica – The Herb Alpert Foundation andCalifornia Institute of the Arts (CalArts) will award the19th Annual Alpert Award in the Arts to fiveexceptional mid-career artists, presented at a lunchhosted by the Herb Alpert Foundation in Santa Monica.

The awards recognize past performance and futurepromise to artists working in Dance, Film/Video, Music,Theatre and Visual Arts; an outstanding candidate ineach genre receives a prize of $75,000. Herb Alpert, thelegendary musician and artist who created the HerbAlpert Foundation with his wife Lani Hall and gave thefirst Alpert Award in the Arts in 1995 says, “The AlpertAwards are given to those who take aesthetic, intellectualand political risks, and challenge worn-out conventions.They’re unafraid of the unknown.”

Irene Borger, the Director of the Alpert Award in theArts, selects the distinguished panelists for each of theAward’s five disciplines.

The 2013 DANCE Award panelists:

Ann Carlson*, choreographer/individual artist, Palo Alto, CAWendy Perron, editor-in-chief, Dance Magazine, New York, NYDavid Rousseve*, artistic director, David Rousseve Reality; professor of choreography, World Arts andCultures/Dance, University of California, Los Angeles, CA

The 2013 FILM/VIDEO Award panelists:

Margarita De la Vega-Hurtado, independent film person, Houston, TXBill Morrison*, filmmaker, New York, NYAstria Suparak, director and curator, Miller Gallery at Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA

The 2013 MUSIC Award panelists:

Edmund Campion, composer, University of California, Berkeley, co-director, Center for New Music andAudio Technologies, Berkeley, CAMary Ellen Childs, composer, Minneapolis, MNAnthony Davis, composer, University of California, San Diego, CA

The 2013 THEATRE Award panelists:

Kim Euell, playwright and dramaturg-at-large, Iowa City, IAGideon Lester, director of Theatre Programs, Bard College, Co-curator, Crossing the Line Festival, NewYork, NYEric Ting, director and associate artistic director, Long Wharf Theatre, New Haven, CT

The 2013 VISUAL ARTS Award panelists:

Paul Ha, director, MIT List Visual Arts Center, Cambridge, MAKay Larson, art critic and author, Where the Heart Beats: John Cage, Zen Buddhism, and the Inner Life ofArtists, Accord, NYLawrence Rinder, director, Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive, Berkeley, CA

*Past Alpert Award winners

Over the years the distinguished Alpert Award panelists have selected artists who have gone on toextraordinary careers after winning the Alpert Award. They include Zhou Long, 2011 Pulitzer Prizewinner in Music, and Suzan-Lori Parks, a Pulitzer winner for Drama 2002. The many other prizeswinners of the prestigious Alpert Award receive have included 4 MacArthur Fellowships and 22Guggenheim Fellowships.

Initiated and funded by The Herb Alpert Foundation and administered by California Institute of the Arts,the Award rewards experimenters who are challenging and transforming art, their respective disciplines,and society.

Last edited by ccrawford on Apr 15, 2013
Close Menu
Open Menu