Jump to Navigation

Alumna Receives Whiting Writers Awards

Congratulations! Alumna Don Mee Choi received a 2011 Whiting Writers' Award. The $50,000 awards are given annually to ten early career poets, playwrights and fiction and nonfiction writers of exceptional talent and promise.

Don Mee  earned a BFA and MFA from CalArts School of Art. Her first collection of poetry, "The Morning News is Exciting" was published in 2010. The selection committee called it “a wildly surprising work describing the collapse of empire—bracing and invigorating. Its anger glows.” 

Whiting Writers’ Award recipients are chosen by a selection committee comprised of recognized writers, literary scholars, and editors. Past recipients include Elif Batuman, Michael Cunningham, Jeffrey Eugenides, Jonathan Franzen, Terrance Hayes, Yiyun Li, Tony Kushner and CalArts alumnus and Critical Studies faculty member Douglas Kearney.

Read more about the 2011 awards in the Los Angeles Times.

Last edited by dthatt on Nov 17, 2011
Close Menu
Open Menu