Jump to Navigation

CalArts 2011 MFA Recipients Launch Culminating Exhibition

California Institute of the Arts (CalArts)
2011 Masters of Fine Art Exhibition   

June 25 – July 10, 2011
Monday - Thursday 12-6
Friday - Sunday 12-8
and by appointment

Opening Reception:

June 25, 2011 at 6:00 pm

The Farley Building
1669 Colorado Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA  90041

Valencia, CA, June 2—For their culminating exhibition, the latest graduates of the California Institute of the Arts (CalArts) School of Art MFA program will transform the interior of the Farley Building in Eagle Rock to advance the boundaries of critical art practice. Eve Fowler, co-founder of Artist Curated Projects, and Alexandro Segade, founding member of collaborative performance trio My Barbarian, co-curate this year’s exhibition—which opens with a reception on June 25, 2011 at 6:00 pm and runs through July 10.

The Farley Building, a 15,500 square foot warehouse, will be repurposed as an experimental exhibition space to reflect the structure and ethos at the heart of the CalArts program—a laboratory for expanding critical art discourse.

Exhibition curator, Eve Fowler co-founded Artist Curated Projects, which supports and nurtures the projects and ideas of a wide community of artists. Her work has been on view at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts in San Francisco, Participant Inc. in New York and at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, among other places.  Alexandro Segade, a founding member of the performance collective My Barbarian, is a video and performance artist whose solo projects have been presented in Los Angeles as LAXART and REDCAT (Roy and Edna Disney/CalArts Theater), and Vox Populi in Philadelphia.

For more information on the curators go to:

The exhibition includes the work of: Tony Banuelos, Donna R. Brown, Tyler Calkin, Amy Howden-Chapman, Fiona Connor, Valerie Green, Abel Baker Gutierrez, Mette Hersoug, Kenyatta A.C. Hinkle, Ian Hokin, Jake Jones, Keaton Macon, Simone Montemurno, Melodie Mousset, Claire Nereim, Joe Post, Andy Robert, Monica Rodriguez, Ariane Roesch, Josh Segura, Zachary Sharrin, Cammie Staros, Ramak Fazel, Rohini Kapil, Jinyoung Koh, Vivian Lin, Thomas Macker, Michala Paludan, Nicole Nayeon Kim, Arjuna Neuman, Kean O'Brien, Lee Ann Paynter, Clifford Landon Pun, Marisa Sciabarrasi, Molly Stinchfield, and Nathan Lam Vương.

Last edited by dthatt on Jun 02, 2011
Close Menu
Open Menu