Jump to Navigation

CalArtians honored with Ovation Awards

The LA Stage Alliance’s Ovation Awards ceremony, which honored the best in LA’s local theater scene for the 2009-2010 season, took place at The Orpheum Theater on Monday, November 14. CalArts had a strong showing, with Beth Kenney (Acting ‘91) winning for her performance in The Winters Tale, and nominations going to productions featuring work by Nataki Garrett (Faculty), Christoper Hampton (Acting ‘10), Maureen Huskey (Directing ‘10), Julian Evens (Acting ‘10), Sean Branney (Acting ‘91) and Leslie Baldwin (Acting ‘91).

Design nominations went to: Bryan Maier for Shoe Story at Theater of Note (Sound Design ‘09), Christopher Kuhl for How to Disappear Completely and Never Be Found at The Theater @ Boston Court (Lighting Design ‘05), Daniel Weingarten for Krunk Fu Battle Battle at East West Players (Lighting Design ’04) and Phil Allen for Kiss Me Kate at Reprise Theater Company (Faculty).

The prestigious Richard E. Sherwood award was given to School of Theater alum Christopher Kuhl (Lighting Design ‘05). The $10,000 award identifies innovative and adventurous artists in all aspects of the field, and works with them to build a creative relationship with Center Theater Group.

Last edited by dthatt on Dec 01, 2011
Close Menu
Open Menu